Francis Vallat wins Lifetime Achievement Award


Lloyd’s List Global Awards Press Release

Francis Vallat wins Lifetime Achievement Award

From left to right: BBC presenter Jeremy Vine, IMO Secretary-General Kitack Lim, ENMC Chairman Francis Vallat and Richard Meade, managing editor at Lloyd’s List

Francis Vallat, President of the European Network of Maritime Cluster won Lifetime Achievement Awardat the Lloyd’s List Global Awards presented last night at the National Maritime Museum.

In his opening speech, Richard Meade, managing editor of Lloyd’s List said ‘The past 20 years have thrown up many different challenges for shipping. We have seen stratospheric dry bulk rates followed by an unprecedented collapse. We have suffered the resurgence of piracy and the rising threat of cyber-attacks.

But we have, at the same time, achieved extraordinary feats of technological distinction, creating the efficient backbone of globalisation, and, I would argue, a better world in the process.’

Recipients are chosen from entries taken from around the world and adjudicated by a distinguished judging panel which this year included:  Robert Ashdown, Secretary-General, International Association of Classification Societies; Andrew Bardot, Executive Officer, International Group of P&I; James Cooper, Chief Executive Executive Director of the Board, Associated British Ports Holdings; Angus Frew, CEO, Bimco; Costas Grammenos, Professor of Shipping Trade and Finance; Lars Green, CEO, Green Consulting Group; John Lloyd, Chief Executive Officer, The Nautical Institute; Michael Parker, Global Industry Head for the Shipping, Logistics and Offshore industries, Citi; Guy Platten, CEO, UK Chamber of Shipping; Katharina Stanzel, Managing Director, Intertanko; Chris Welsh MBE, Secretary-General, Global Shippers’ Forum.

 ‘Over the past 20 years the Lloyd’s List has bestowed its Lifetime Achievement accolade on some of the shipping industry’s most influential leading lights, and this special anniversary award is very much a continuation of that tradition. 

Our winner tonight is a stalwart of European maritime sector who has spent his career fighting to raise the standard of shipping.’ Richard Meade

The 20th anniversary of the awards were attended by over 400 industry professionals and were hosted by Jeremy Vine.

The awards are managed by Lloyd’s List - leading maritime commerce since 1734.  – Lloyd’s List provides information, analysis andknowledge for business decision makers in a changing and increasingly complex shipping environment.

To see the full list of Lloyd’s List Awards winners please visit:


Loader Traitement en cours...